Delphine

On a hot Saturday, a few weeks ago, Chuck surprised me with an adventure.  He told me to put some walking shoes on, I laughed and slipped on some strappy cork wedges, and we drove deep into East LA.  To the Metro station. And, my day was made right then and there, I didn’t care what else was on the agenda. Fortunately for you all, it got even better from there.  We boarded the train and rode rather aimlessly, through tunnels, over bridges, and made it to Grand Central Station, where the May Day protesters were filling up the station on the way home from a day of rallying against racism.  I felt bad for my lazy social in-activism, so when Chuck suggested we drown our underachieving selves in a cocktail, I was more than happy to oblige.  Traxx was closed for the weekend, so we hopped on the red line and made our way out to the spankin’ new W West Hollywood

GOOD idea. The train station empties out right onto Hollywood Blvd, and what did we find sitting right before our eyes…? Well none other than the W’s Delphine Eatery & Bar

Perfecto!  Beer me, barman!!!

We wanted to stay light, what with it being a Saturday–the Lord’s day of feasting, and all–so we opted for some charcuterie, cheese, and oysters. 

Ding, ding, mothaeffing, ding.

 

Everything was amazing, and I cannot wait to go back. The sandwiches, steak frites, and every damn thing else looked so great that I want to take a bite out of this keyboard just thinking about it.

Good with the bad: there was one pretty damn douchey guy at the bar while we were there.

But other than that, it was the perfect lazy Saturday, take a trip on the train, kinda day.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Delphine

  1. I love date nights. That Gold Line Metro in E.Los is 1.5 mile away from my house. Delphine seems to be the perfect place to spend a Sunday afternoon, especially when the Lion King crowd gets released from the cage across the street. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

